Looking Through the Window


Looking Through the Window

I look through the window and see all the dreams that have yet come to pass…

All the hopes I have…

I look around I see ambivalence…

The indifferent veneer covering people’s despair…

I look in the mirror…

I see the years that have gone by…

The innocence fading from my eyes…

The mistakes I’ve made…

I see the tears I’ve cried and those to come…

In my sleep come the nightmares…

I look at my children and I feel so much love…

I am certainly blessed from God above…

Yet, I yearn for a future where my body is not broken…

And there is no pain…

Looking through the window…

I am older…

wiser…

And perhaps happier…

but still in pain…

Please leave a comment

