Little Mary’s Nigthly Dance


Shawdows dance across the floor as day becomes night….

Mama and Grandma fall fast alseep…

Little Mary rises from her bed…

Moonlight lights upon the floor…

Little Mary dances as she has done so many times before…

Twirling and twirling…

Gliding and gliding…

She dances across the dining room floor…

Not a sound does she make as the music plays on in her ears…

Over and over Mary dances again…

Twirling and gliding till the night has gone…

Sunrise comes and little Mary falls down…

Fast asleep upon her bed…

One thought on “Little Mary’s Nigthly Dance

  1. I wrote Little Mary’s Nightly Dance during the divorce to my children’s dad in 1992. I have since revised it but most of the original remains. It was during this time I wrote over 100 poems unfortunately I have lost a great many over the years. Mary in this poem is actually me and it is about a time in my life where I felt life was full of love, magic and innocence. I did actually get up in the middle of the night when I was 5 or 6 and dance in the moonlight from the dining room window and pretend the shadows were all friends watching me dance. Unfortunately, the dancing ended abrubtly when soon after I was awakened one night by a crazy neighbor at my window. My home no longer felt safe and innocent anymore after that.

Please leave a comment

